McNally announces committee changes

Friday, January 5, 2018, Vol. 42, No. 1

Lt. Gov. Randy McNally (R-Oak Ridge) today announced state Senate committee assignment changes for the second annual session of the 110th General Assembly.

The changes come as a result of the resignation of three Senate members since the legislature adjourned in May. Two of the resigning senators, Doug Overbey and Jim Tracy, accepted presidential appointments.

Notable changes include the appointment of Sen. Richard Briggs (R-Knoxville) as chairman of the Ethics Committee, replacing former Sen. Overbey. Sen. Kerry Roberts (R-Springfield) will take over as chairman of the Calendar Committee.

Sen. Joey Hensley (R-Hohenwald) will now serve as second vice chair of the Finance, Ways and Means and Labor Committee. Sen. John Lundberg (R-Bristol) moves to 1st vice chair of the Judiciary Committee.

New senators Art Swann (R-Maryville) and Senator Mark Pody (R-Lebanon) will serve as first vice chair of the Transportation Committee and second vice chair of the Energy, Agriculture and Natural Resources Committee respectively.

Also of note, Senator Becky Massey (R-Knoxville) will now serve on the Senate Finance, Ways and Means Committee and Senator Frank Niceley (R-Strawberry Plains) will join the Commerce and Labor Committee. Senator Steve Southerland (R-Morristown) moves to the Ethics Committee.

All standing committee chairman remain the same. The position of Speaker Pro Tempore will be appointed at a later date.

The Senate has nine standing committees and four select committees: Commerce and Labor; Education; Energy, Agriculture, and Natural Resources; Finance, Ways and Means; Health and Welfare; Government Operations, Judiciary; State and Local Government; Transportation and Safety; Ethics; Delayed Bills; Rules; and Calendar.